Tamed Cynic
Jason Micheli
Hitmen and Midwives: Session Three
0:00
-1:22:44

Hitmen and Midwives: Session Three

Preaching should aim at a promise that pledges a future that is otherwise

Thanks for reading Jason Micheli ! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Here is the audio from my third talk on Grace and Proclamation for the Anglican Church of Canada’s Bishop’s Clergy Conference:

Attempting to retrieve the promissory, sacramental nature of preaching, Robert Jenson proposes a bracingly simple preparatory question for proclamation: “What does the text promise and what may I thus promise that can be and only can be because Christ lives? What future, possible and certain on account of Christ, may I promise my hearers by the leading and authority of this text?”

0 Comments
Tamed Cynic
Jason Micheli
Stick around here and I’ll use words as best as I know how to help you give a damn about the God who, in Jesus Christ, no longer gives any damns.