Tamed Cynic
Jason Micheli
Sinners in the Hands of a __________ God
0:00
-19:42

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Tamed Cynic

Sinners in the Hands of a __________ God

Too often the voice in our head sounds like Mark Driscoll
2

Tamed Cynic is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and all content, consider becoming a paid subscriber.

Romans 8

This Sunday’s lectionary epistle is perhaps my favorite scripture, Paul’s great gospel summation in Romans 8. While I am presently doing a long lectio continua series through the Apocalypse, here’s a sermon on the text. (It’s ten years old!) I played a clip of Mark Driscoll “preaching” at the top of the sermon (“God hates you,” he screamed). Little did I know then that Driscoll was soon to exemplify, in sad fashion, the point I attempted to preach with this text.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Tamed Cynic to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Tamed Cynic
Jason Micheli
Stick around here and I’ll use words as best as I know how to help you give a damn about the God who, in Jesus Christ, no longer gives any damns.